The Board

The Board of Professional Engineers of Queensland comprises seven members; five are appointed by the Governor-in-Council on the recommendation of the Minister for Housing and Public Works, one is an engineer nominated by Engineers Australia, and one is an engineer elected by RPEQs. Board members appointed by the Governor-in-Council on the recommendation of the Minister include an engineer based in regional Queensland, an engineering academic representative, a legal representative, a building and construction industry representative and a community representative.

 Dawson Wilkie
 Chair and regional representative
 BE Civil, FIE Aust, FIPWEAQ, RPEQ, GAICD, CPEng, EngExec, APEC Engineer

Dawson Wilkie was first appointed to the Board as Chairperson and regional representative in January 2015 and reappointed in April 2018. A qualified civil engineer working in private consultancy, Dawson has worked in the profession for more than 35 years. Graduating from the Queensland Institute of Technology in 1979, Dawson went on to work with the New South Wales Department of Main Roads and then in local government with Dubbo City Council and Townsville City Council. Dawson was the managing director of a medium sized construction company and then the chief executive officer at an engineering firm before moving into private consultancy.

Evelyn Storey
Deputy Chair and Engineers Australia representative
BSc (Civil Engineering), DipEm, CPEng, NPER, RPEQ

Evelyn Storey has served as the Board's Deputy Chair since July 2016. She is a highly experienced structural engineer, technical director and business unit manager, with 30 years' experience in Australia and overseas. Educated at the University of London; Evelyn has been involved in and directed projects including terminal expansions at Brisbane and Gold Coast airports, UQ's Advanced Engineering Building, QUT's Science and Technology Precinct, and the Cross Rail project in London. She is currently Regional Director of Aurecon's South East Queensland operations.



Yvonne Pengilly
Building and construction industry representative
BTech (Civil Engineering), QBCC Open Builders Licence, MAICD

Yvonne Pengilly is the building and construction industry representative, appointed in July 2016. Yvonne has more than 30 years' experience as a consultant, contract administrator, project manager, builder and managing director. Yvonne owns and manages Myown Constructions, combining managing director role with construction manager and consultant. She is a member of Women in Construction, Queensland Master Builders Association and the Australian Institute of Company Directors and sits on the Queensland Building Commission Board. Yvonne has been awarded on a number of occasions by QMBA for her work and service in the building industry.

Sarah Hansen
Community representative

Sarah Hansen is the Board’s community representative, appointed in July 2016. She started her career as an estimator in 2003, before progressing to contracts administrator and project manager. Sarah has successfully delivered over 33 projects for major supermarket chains, religious organisations, education providers, government and other commercial entities. Sarah is known for her pragmatic and collaborative approach to building and has developed a good reputation and positive working relations with a range of stakeholders throughout her career. During her time in the sector she has worked for some of Queensland's major construction firms.

Peter Evans
Elected RPEQ representative

Peter Evans was elected to the Board in March 2016. Peter started his career in local government, before joining DTMR in 1982.  He served as area engineer, project engineer, manager and regional director in Barcaldine, Rockhampton, Warwick and Roma and managed projects in water supply, sewerage systems and road works.  Since 2010, he has held the position of DTMR Deputy Chief Engineer and co-manages DTMR’s $3.6 million annual research program. Peter was educated at the University of Queensland and is a member of Engineers Australia.

Suzy Cairney
Legal representative
LLB (Hons) GradDipLegalPrac

Suzy Cairney was appointed to the Board as legal representative in April 2018. A projects and commercial lawyer with particular experience in project development and operational contracts in the ports, civil construction and resources sectors. She has experience both in Australia and overseas, and has advised government clients, principals, developers, contractors and operators on a wide range of major infrastructure projects. Suzy is a Partner in the Brisbane office of Holding Redlich.

Associate Professor Nagaratnam Sivakugan
Academic representative

James Cook University's Dr Nagaratnam (Siva) Sivakugan was appointed to the Board in April 2018. He received his Bachelor's degree in Civil Engineering with First Class Honours from the University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka, and Master's of Science in Civil Engineering and PhD from Purdue University, West Lafayette, United States. Siva has authored hundreds of books, book chapters, refereed journal papers, conference papers and consulting reports. Siva is a Fellow of Engineers Australia and the American Society of Civil Engineers and does consulting work for geotechnical and mining companies.